Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Forgot to water… March 22, 2010

Filed under: What's Up? — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 11:19 PM

I was shocked to see my plant dead in the corner tonight. I only have 2 living plants – or had – 2 living plants. Country living does not make you an instant green thumb apparently. I am embarrassed to say that this plant survived living alone in our other (staged for sale) house for almost 8 months. Alone. I gave it water at best once a month and I assume my “peeps” that came to collect mail and check for leaks and such, might have given it water on occasion too. Who knows? The sad but true fact is – I have had this plant in my other (now only) house for two weeks and it is now dunzo. I felt sad for a moment – that my thumb of torment has taken the life of yet another living green thing. Then I had my a-ha moment. A-ha! A blog is like a plant – argh! And I ran to my blog to say…don’t die, here is some water…don’t die on me yet.

Where am I at with the pen? Well – I am writing a short story about a woman in the 1940’s. I’m getting it ready for a competition for the end of the month. I’m already in love with the characters, and the simple beauty of that era. Today I had them tapping trees during the syrup season.

Life imitates life, but in this case my art is imitating my life…I have 15 trees tapped and am in full maple syrup production – it is sweet place to be. I will post a sample of it soon…the writing, not the syrup. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

