Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Mummy, you’re bragging. July 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 11:55 AM

Reality check. My seven-year old daughter has a gift for giving me those. I’ve been gushing, beaming from the inside out about my experience at the Humber School of Writers and my mentor Wayson Choy. But – during one of my “Wayson loves-me-fests, my daughter grounded me like a concrete block.

“Mummy – you’re bragging.”

And I was. And I have been. But I think I’m done now; so I can shake off the sparkles and dust of conceit and get on with what is important. Honing my craft, and making my first novel, Debris, the very best it can be.

I’ve given myself a deadline of next Wednesday to get the first few chapters more polished so I can send them to two agents I met this week. It was a HUGE gift that they said – send me something, and I just don’t want to blow it.

So – I won’t be bragging on my blog for a while, because I will be doing what I should be – making my novel better. I do want to thank all my blog readers – you guys are the best. Not one of you called me out on my boasting, you just let me wave it boldly, and for that I say thank you. And thanks for coming back! LOL!

I’ll let you know how I feel about the next step in my journey at the end of next week when I have submitted to the agents. Wish me luck again!

 

12 Responses to “Mummy, you’re bragging.”

  1. H Says:

    Your allowed to brag,, a little ;o) Good Luck to you Noelle

  2. Jan Wright Says:

    Don’t be hard on yourself…good writing deserves praise…even by yourself. Good on you!!!

    Continued good luck,

    Jan Wright

  3. Rhonda Says:

    You weren’t called out simply because you don’t do enough bragging about how wonderful you are- I know this for a fact. So you go girl, and don’t let your daughter (channeling your mother) bring you down, she is much less experienced at modesty than you are.

    When is my book club going to be able to do a “test run”??

  4. Lisa Tane Bradley Says:

    Noelle I say, brag away girl. This is awesome and you should be very proud of yourself. I can’t wait to see the finished product.

    • Thanks Lisa – I am proud of myself, and when you are someone who always self criticizes like I do, I guess I should exhale and enjoy the proud moments as much as I can. It won’t be long before I’m doubting every word that I write again. Ugh – that is the fate of a writer I have learned. But I wouldn’t trade it for the world! With your passion as a photographer, I know you get it.

  5. inkstr0kes Says:

    Wait… TWO agents said ‘send us something’?? Brag away!! That is HUGE!!!

    • I learned that selling yourself is key in this business, something I don’t think I realized about being a writer. I decided my week at Humber was going to be about doing everything I was afraid of. I know you get it when I say I was shaking in my boots to approach those agents, but I did, and it worked out good! Now I have to get my polished first chapters to them in hopes that one of them (or better, both of them!) love it. Off to work I go…

  6. Laurie Says:

    Hi Noelle,

    Those were some heady days in Humber! I like this blog because it reminds us all to get down to writing.

    Best of luck to you!

    Laurie


Leave a Reply

