Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

My New Job! August 10, 2010

Filed under: What's Up? — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 10:18 PM

Ahhhhh, sweet summertime. Sunshine, lazy Sunday afternoons and scrumptious BBQ dinners remind us this is the season for enjoying family and friends. Somehow, it doesn’t seem like the time to work, not at all. I want to play. Dig my toes in the sand and drink large glasses of lemonade – the spiked version preferably. So is it the heat rays that are making me sluggish? I haven’t been writing, I haven’t been editing, and I haven’t even been blogging. I’m only slothing.

It doesn’t help that I have the kidlets home for the summer who have hired me as their 24-7 cruise director of summer fun. Times sure have changed since I was young. In those days, you basically got the boot outside until the dinner hour. Parental guilt has had a major shift in those 30 years somehow. I guarantee that neither of my parents felt bad for sending me out to play all day. Nor did they worry about whether I was bored. They weren’t alone in that way of parenting either. Most of my friends were expected to stay out until the streetlights came on – or in our case living out in the boonies – until you could see the fireflies rising from the grass. Essentially you were to “get gone” and keep out of trouble, or at least not break any bones.

Oh, the good ol’ days. I want to tell my kids to get gone, but then I’d be a bad mom by today’s standards. I have to entertain, enlighten, amuse and engage my kids all day every day. It’s an exhausting job, thank-less job, and the pay sucks. This microwave society we live in lends to never ever having a dull moment, so my days of writing under my wonderful Willow have been exchanged for tennis matches, laser tag, beach days and amusement parks.

On the up side – I’m missing my writing life like an absent lover. Trying to steal moments to get ideas down, sneak away to type passages. I’m longing to have time alone with my novel. I miss the passion and the intensity she brings. But, with September only a few weeks away, I’ve decided to kick back and just give in to the life of cruise directing non-writer to keep the kids smiling.

Well, absence does make the heart grow fonder.

 

6 Responses to “My New Job!”

  1. Dale Long Says:

    I don’t know if it’s guilt, per se, maybe more of a reliving of cherished momments. Those memories we have of the rare times when our parents did something with us. I think because they were so rare that we feel we want our kids to have those same memmories but somewhere along the way we’ve forgotten that it wasn’t every minute of every day.

    Look at it this way, you’ve just created a summer full of fun memmories for your kids AND, admit it, you had fun doing it, as exhausting as it was. It’s not something every parent has the luxury of doing in todays age of latch-key households, and video game babysitters.

    Plus, life is the ultimate muse is it not?

  2. Rhonda Says:

    Happy Cruising, Noelle. Is it possible that Bowmanville is a port?

  3. Amy Fisher Says:

    Great post, Noelle. Look at it this way – if your kids are 10-ish and you’re 35-ish ;o), they will be gone in 10 years and you will have FORTY+ YEARS!! to do your thing. That’s a lot of writing time. Enjoy them, and live with no regrets.
    …A


Leave a Reply

