Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

The Winning Read? August 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 1:20 PM

If you’ve never been to a reading, I invite you to your first! It happens to be mine, so you’ll see a familiar face, albeit panic stricken and euphoric at the same time.

I’m punch-drunk after being shortlisted in a writing competition. Literary Lapses has chosen my submission, along with four others, as the finalists in their recent poetry and short story competition. The Mariposa Writers’ Group has invited me to read my piece at the gala event being held after the Lake Country Literary Lapses Festival.

This year’s Festival will take place on Friday, August 20, 2010 on the grounds of the Leacock Home and Museum, in Orillia. A variety of events (workshops, readings etc.) will take place throughout the day, and the National Bank Financial Group Awards will be presented at the gala event, where the finalists will read their work up for the claim of winner. Although my parents would assure me I’m already a winner. 🙂

The gala event, which is free to attend, will be held this Friday evening (August 20th) at 6:30 p.m. There will be a bunch of us meeting at the Leacock Museum at 5:15pm for dinner (they have a nice buffet for $13) and I would love for you to join us if you can! Come early and have dinner, or just come for the reading and free refreshments reception after the readings. The event runs from 6:30 till 9:30 pm.

Do let me know if you are up for a night out and will be joining us for dinner or the gala, or both. The awards committee is looking for numbers to plan for food and such, so I’ll need an RSVP. It would be great to see some familiar faces in the crowd to help my knees from shaking!

 

5 Responses to “The Winning Read?”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Oh my gosh, this is so exciting Noelle. I am going to see if I can figure out a way to come.

    Nicole

  2. Laurie Says:

    Congratulations Noelle. You just keep reaching for the stars and touching them! Wish I could be there tonight, but I’ll be thinking of you.

    Laurie

  3. Dale Long Says:

    Sorry Noelle, I can only be there in spirit.

    Good luck, but it’s not like you need it, you’ll rock the joint!


Leave a Reply

