Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Where is the love? September 20, 2010

Filed under: Progression Of "Debris",What's Up? — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 10:14 AM

The waiting is making me squirrely. In July, I sent a query and the first four chapters to an agent who requested them. They said they would get back to me end of August. No news is good news, except I don’t really believe that, I’m just saying it to feel better about the suffering of waiting. Patience. I need some. But it doesn’t help when the wanting is so intense.
I’ve never been a patient person; I tend to be a little spastic and like to get things done, like yesterday. But, finding an agent is a lot like finding your true love. It’s exciting but scary, and not as easy as it sounds. It also demands taking risks, throwing your ego aside with hopes that you can shoulder the rejection when that true love says, they’re just not that into you.
The good news about finding an agent as opposed to finding true love, is that as a writer you can put yourself out there in bulk. You can court many agents across the country, across the globe really – and you won’t be seen as the town tart. There is no shame is multiple submissions, no cheap labels against you or your virtues. The worst that can be assumed is that you have loose vowels.
But I have to admit, I’m a product of growing up in the days of Disney. Stories of a true princess and her soul mate are etched into my skin and play a part in my fantasy of fate and the happy-ever-after ending. The agent I queried seemed a perfect fit, I laughed at her jokes, was thoroughly engaged as she spoke about platforms and publishing and such. She was fabulous. When I spoke with her privately, I felt a connection – that only a writer and their agent could have – was clear. I felt like she was THE ONE.
So, we are well into September and as of today I haven’t heard from my fated agent. As the brave heroine of this story, I should be bold enough to ride up on my stallion (via email) and ask if she read it and liked it. But it feels a lot like asking a first date if he loves me yet.
As usual, I need a little incentive to pull on my big girl panties. Some shame-based motivation (by telling my blog followers) to get my butt in gear. I’ll contact the agent, hoping for the best and preparing for the answer I don’t want to hear. If she loves Debris like I do, I’ll have myself a new agent. If she decides to pass, then I’ll have my finger poised on the keyboard ready to query the next agent. Or better yet, the next 15 agents.
Like true love, an agent is hard to come by, but well worth the work and the wait.

 

10 Responses to “Where is the love?”

  1. Rhonda Says:

    You sooo entertain me! With writing like that, how can she not love you!??

  2. Will you be my agent? 🙂

  3. Dale Long Says:

    I feel your pain, Noelle. What makes the waiting worse is hearing about all these award-winning authors who were initially turned down by agants in bulk. AWARD-WINNING authors! Mind you they won their awards and then were picked up by an agent.

    You’ll find one. Debris is too good not to get picked up.

    Now if you’ll excuse me, I have my own worry-rut to pace.

  4. Natalie Says:

    Noelle you crack me up! You are going to get the call! You have such a way with words and your witty silly self comes through loud and clear in your posts..I laugh every time I read a post,as I can hear you in my head saying all of these things,,super fast too 🙂
    Keep us posted!
    Natalie

  5. KC Says:

    The waiting really is the hardest part. That Tom Petty is smarter than he looks. Fingers crossed for you!

    Kevin

    • Thanks Kevin. Let’s hope some of your fantastic good luck (combined with your brilliance and hard work of course!) rubs off on me. It’s a good thing I have kids and cows around to keep me occupied. LOL.

  6. KC Says:

    LOL. Kids and cows always help!

    I’m booking breakfast meeting right now…AND mini-workshop!


Leave a Reply

