Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

The Cow Whisperer September 28, 2010

Filed under: What's Up? — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 11:49 AM


I walked a cow home yesterday morning. Yup, it’s safe to say I’ve gone rural.

My husband had the day off and we walked the kids to the bus stop at the end of our driveway (which is longer than a standard football field, another indication of country living). When we get to the road we were greeted by a young Charolais (a cow – about 1000 pounds).

The bus arrives and goes to swerve around the cow, which scares the poor beast into flight. It runs frantically alongside it, and the kids on the bus go nuts. They are whooping, calling out to the cow, and chanting a direction to the driver to run over the cow. (to clarify – the latter was not my kids yelling).
By the time the bus is out of sight, the cow is even further from home and crying out in confusion. So, what’s a good neighbour to do? Grab a handful of long grass and start calling Bessie. At least that’s what they do in the movies, so that’s what we did.

My dog led the way, and the cow followed. Well, as long as we didn’t look back, the cow followed. The minute we cast a backward glance, she’d stop in her tracks and wait. So we walked her back to the farmer next door – which in the country is more than a fifteen minute walk. It was a writing day, so I was dressed in perfect visiting attire – my fuzzy pajamas –the ones with the giant green frogs. Yes – I write in my PJ’s to get my best work done, it’s a quirky habit that works for me. But I digress.

So the cow gets home safely. The farmer is glad to see us. The cow is glad to see the farmer. My dog gets an extra walk and the kids have a laugh on their way to school. In the end, I have a funny ditty to blog about. An interesting and odd day and it all started with a little side of beef.

The best of days do I guess.

 

5 Responses to “The Cow Whisperer”

  1. Anissa Says:

    Noelle,

    Just wanted to let you know that I am living my country life vicariously through you! I am so jealous 🙂 Hope everyone is well! Love the Debris too!

    Anissa

    • Thank you Anissa! It’s unbelievably motivating to get comments like this from people reading my blog. Trust me when I say it gets me through the hard days when I wonder what the heck I’m doing!

      The fam is all doing well, thanks. We missed Lainey being up on your stage last year though! 😦 Good memories!

      Thanks again for reading!
      Noelle

  2. Dale Long Says:

    HAHAHA!! Man that’s funny! I’ve lived in the country since… well… grade 5 (no years, I want to preserve the illusion of youth) and NEVER have I walked a cow home.
    What a sight that must have been. I suspect the cow stopped every time you turned around because he/she didn’t want everyone to know he/she was with the crazy person in the fuzzy frog jammies. ;P

  3. Great post! You may want to follow up to this topic 😛


Leave a Reply

