Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Yes, you can do it without shame October 6, 2010

Filed under: What's Up? — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 9:28 AM

There’s a rumour floating around the writing community. It’s being said that the new reality for writers is that we need to master the ability to promote ourselves. Lucky for writers, I teach a workshop on shameless self promotion! I’ll be presenting it to WCDR members and guests this coming Saturday after the monthly writers breakfast meeting.
You don’t have to be a member to come out to the monthly meetings. You can come as a guest or on your own to check things out. You get a fabulous breakfast while being inspired in all things literary. You don’t have to be an official writer either (because I know some of my blog readers are closet writers!). In fact, I’ll be addressing the very topic of closet writers in the workshop. I’ll also be talking about how to promote yourself as a writer, and have you ready to shout it out from the roof tops.
Intrigued? Then check out the link below for the Writing Community of Durham Region and register for the upcoming breakfast and mini workshop. You need to register in order to eat –we writers are very possessive when it comes to sausage and bacon. Our keynote speaker will be Kelley Armstrong, author of the Darkest Powers young adult urban fantasy trilogy, the Women of the Otherworld paranormal suspense series, and the Nadia Stafford crime series. The meeting will engage and motivate you.
Come give it a try. It’ll be great to see friendly faces. And I’d be happy to coax you out of the closet, or help you sing your own praises, shamelessly.

Happy upcoming turkey time!

 

4 Responses to “Yes, you can do it without shame”

  1. Dale Long Says:

    Congratulations and good luck! I can’t think of a more energetic person to teach this.

  2. Erica Says:

    I wish I had been able to go to this work shop. I would love to have heard your workshop on self promotion! I am also enthralled with Kelly Armstrong’s books right now. I am currently reading “Haunted” which is the fifth book I’ve read of hers!

    Keep us up to date with your workshops! I can’t wait to see you in action!


Leave a Reply

