Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Can I be honest? October 20, 2010

Filed under: What's Up? — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 11:14 AM

Who doesn’t love awards? Who doesn’t love secrets?

Claudia Osmond, fellow author and blogger, just bestowed me with The Honest Scrap Award. The award gets passed on from blogger to blogger, a positive nod for writing from the heart. (see award criteria at the bottom of my blog post)

This was a proud moment for me – my son and I stayed up late too many nights reading Claudia’s creepy and thrilling YA novel “Smudge’s Mark”, published last year. In fact, her blog inspired me to get mine up and running. So kudos from Claudia is something to get excited about.
The good news for my blog readers is that the victory comes with a requirement to reveal “10 honest things” about me. So, for your amusement, and in honour of bearing our souls to keep the monsters out of our closets, here are 10 honest things about me:

1.      At 42 years old, I still gag when I take a pill. Even an itty bitty one.
2.      I talk a lot. I know it. If you know me – you know it. But it always hurt my feelings deeply to be criticised about it as a child. Stings now too. “You talk so much”. Really? Duh. If you can’t take it, get out of earshot range.
3.      I hate feeling vulnerable more than anything. Really, who likes it? But I think my aversion to any weakness in myself is in a league of its own. Vulnerability is my boogie man.
4.      I can eat chocolate dipped meringues until I am physically sick and still want more. And yes, this has been tested. Several times.
5.      I spent most of my life worrying about what people think, and will likely spend the rest of my life convincing myself I don’t give a sh*%.
6.      At my very core, I’m afraid I’ll be eaten by sharks. Actually, not sharks as much as just one shark. Jaws (cue music). As funny as this may seem, it’s pathetically true. My husband says I actually get a look on my face when I’m frolicking in the ocean that he knows it’s time to come near me in case I go berserk. It just suddenly comes over me – complete panic. I don’t yell or run; I just freeze and look terrified. It’s completely unpredictable though. Los Cabos – I had the Jaws freaky face. Maui – no sign of it. It’s been known to happen briefly in Ontario lakes (they’re so dark, you never know what’s down there) and in-ground swimming pools (it might somehow get in through the filter).
7.      I love musical productions. Too much. I get giddy. Glee geek.
8.      I buy happy shoes – ones that make you feel like a kid again. Keds, Mary Janes, crazy pink rain boots. Currently looking for saddle shoes – my favourite when I was five, wore the soles out. Ellen DeGeneres has been sporting them lately on her talk show and I am green with envy.
9.      I do a mean running man.
10.    I’ve carefully manipulated my husband over the last 13 years into thinking that he’s the lucky one for having me. I hope he never figures out the truth. Everyone needs a solid rock to hang onto, and mine is a giant mountain.

Being granted The Honest Scrap Award also requires that I recognize fellow bloggers that I deem worthy of the award. It was a no brainer for me.
These fellow writers and bloggers have a common thread. They all like to inspire.It comes from the heart, that special ability to shine the light on others, without fear of it dimming their own. They drag their boogie men out into the light and keep you smiling the whole time. More than anything though, They are willing to share encouragement and motivation to other writers, even when it means showing thier own fears and anxiety. Take a peek and see what I’m talking about. Congrats to my chosen bloggers, Laurie, Dale and Kevin.

Laurie Elmquist                                 www.laurieelmquist.blogspot.com
Dale Long                                             www.drlong67.wordpress.com
Kevin Craig                                          www.kevintcraig.wordpress.com

The Honest Scrap Award:
This award is about bloggers who post from their heart, who often times put their heart on display as they write from the depths of their soul. This means so much to me as that is the root reason of why and what I write about. I believe writing is your heart without a mask. My writing, whether it be a blog post, a poem, a piece of prose or a WIP is the truest part of my soul. To me writing is about honesty and truth-seeking. There is the saying that the pen is more powerful than the sword. I believe that writing is a way to challenge people and to speak often times for those who cannot speak.

 

16 Responses to “Can I be honest?”

  1. Candy Says:

    good job cuz, haha don’t worry about the shark thing, I get that one sometimes too.

  2. Ruth Walker Says:

    Noelle. Dear. I sometimes have to nearly jump into bed in case the Boogeyman is somehow waiting in the dark underneath. But that’s normal, isn’t it? Isn’t it?

    You are so damn refreshing — honest, vulnerable (yeah, I know), and filled with the wonder and joy of every day’s breathing in and breathing out.

    One day, it will be the Giller. And I can say, “I know that wonderful, wacky and brutally honest writer.” It will be just darn great to say that.

  3. Love it! 🙂

    BTW, I, too, am terrified of sharks. Used to have a recurring nightmare as a kid of swimming underwater along a chain-link fence (???) keeping the sharks at bay, and then suddenly being sucked towards it and trying to keep my arms and legs from going through the links. I’ve kept away from underwater chain-link fences ever since. :/

    • Great, now I have a new shark image to be terrified of. LOL.

      I think it’s no accident that we both have the shark fear, and were both about 10 years old when the movie came out. I didn’t even see it until so much later, but the fear got to me anyway,

      My guess is you love music from Grease too. 🙂

      • Yep – Greased Lightning, baby!

        Yes, curse that Jaws! Pools, lakes, large hot tubs, you name it. They all give me that dun dun … dun dun … feeling! I can tell you one thing, if Peter Jackson’s thinking of doing a remake of Jaws, you can be sure he won’t get my $12.50 to support it! 🙂

        Sorry about the visual …

  4. Rhonda Says:

    You know you are being honest when your friends of MANY years learn something new from your top 10. Didn’t know the pill thing and although the chocolate dipped meringues was not at all surprising… I have never in my life had one. I believe that makes it your obligation (as a good friend) to introduce me to this love/temptation/vice of yours. Lastly, I wonder if you could find a single blog reader that didn’t have at least one completely unreasonable fear….. not that Jaws and the Boogeyman are unreasonable 😉

    • I would love to hear those not so unreasonable fears from my blog readers! It will make me feel so much more reasonable!

      PS – You gave me a great laugh! I wrote Boogie man…you wrote boogeyman…yours is correct by the way in talking about a figurative monster in a closet. Mine would have been wrong if I was talking about that, but I wasn’t. I was talking about a guy who dances around the room while I sleep.

      (do you think anyone is buying it?) 😉

  5. Dale Long Says:

    I am truly flattered! I often fell that what I write on my blog is fluff, that I’m not writing enough. I’m nowhere near as inciteful as your blog is. You ARE a great source of inspiration.

    Now what do i do? I follow so little blogs and of them you are the only one that qualifies (not that you wouldn’t qualify anyways).

    Y’know, I always come away from the critiquing sessions, or any time we ANA2009’ers get together, feeling reassured, inspired and creatively recharged. Last Monday was no different.

    Thanks, Noelle!

    • Never fluff, not you dear Dale. Every time you put yourself out there and tell readers that you are struggling, doubtful, hopeful or motivated, you inspire your readers.

      I think it is so important that no one ever feels alone in this world of writing. You always hear that it is such a lonely road. But I don’t think it needs to be. The writing part, yes, but the community around you should always give you strength and comfort that you are part of something wonderful.

      Writers can read Inkstroke’s blog and feel like they aren’t alone on the road, and so you have done a wonderful thing. So keep doing it mister!

      As for passing it onwards, I say you do it when you find someone who fits the bill and not before. Keep the award in your back pocket, or better yet – ask your blog readers to respond with some great ones for you and your readers to check out. See what you come up with, and hand it out when you see fit. (but still post your 10 things, it’s the price you pay for being honoured…lol)

  6. KC Says:

    Thanks so much, Noelle! Wow. It’s nice when someone you admire gives you a nod. Thank you! I think Ruth said it best…you’re so damn refreshing! Your workshop last month really motivated me…been feeling great about the 30-second pitch I walked away with! Thanks for the shout-out!

    PS: I love your #5!

    • Shout-out is well earned, Kevin.

      I think one of the best qualities a person can have is a willingness to share. That bit about shining the light on others, without feeling like your radiance will dim – that isn’t something that comes easy to everyone. But you make it look easy. Always encouraging readers on your blog to get out there and go for it. Always full of enthusiasm.

      Plus – I haven’t forgotten, not that my blog readers would know it – that without ever meeting me, without knowing me as anyone other than another WCDR member, you were willing to give me guidance. My simple question (of how many agents did you contact?) was met with a plethora of information, and an offer to read and give feedback on my query. You didn’t ask for anything in return, you simply gave. Someone willing to motivate, inspire and guide…in my opinion, that defines a beautiful person. So – thank you!

  7. Norma Bickle Says:

    Darling Daughter

    I am glad to hear that negative comments on your shining “Gift of Gab” has not dampened your enthusiasum for a full blown chinwag at the drop of a hat. Keep up the good work. Luv & hugs

  8. KC Says:

    **BLUSHING** Thanks again!

    I will get to those duties shortly! 10 honest things about me will be coming up in the next day or so. (-:


Leave a Reply

