Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

youth is wasted on the young… November 10, 2010

Filed under: What's Up? — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 11:59 AM

Age creeps up on you.

One day you’re hanging out at the clubs squeezed into your micro mini and six-inch stilettos, with super glossy lips, and ultra-big hair. You eat what you want and hate exercise. You have all the time in the world to take life seriously, but in that moment you buy another round  of spirits and dance until closing with yet another charming new face. Then you look for something else to do, because the night is still young, and you have five good hours left before dawn.

It seems like you wake up the very next day and you’ve got crow’s feet and dimples in not so cute places. You’re exhausted because you stayed up until midnight watching the news, and need caffeine to kick-start any chance of momentum for the day. You prefer to wear comfortable yoga pants and good walking shoes. You have one kid engaged and looking for a home of her own, another who needs deodorant and now notices boobs, and a baby who is offended by that degrading term.  

Somehow twenty years went by in the blink of an eye.  Somehow things have got all turned around.

With the super-fantastic technology of PVR, I recorded a recent Oprah show, “Teen Heartthrobs.”  The guests included a middle-aged, plumb-ish Shaun Cassidy, and very old (but still remarkably hot) Peter Frampton. It was so weird to see them as old men instead of those hotties I remember. And I had to ask myself – my god – am I middle-aged??? I was shocked.  When the hell did that happen?

I know, you’re only as old as you feel, and to be young at heart is the key to a youthful spirit…ya-ya, I get it. But this realization just feels weird and wrong.  Thanks a lot Oprah.

I don’t like it, not one little bit. I boycott aging! Hell no, I won’t go!  Who’s with me?

See Peter still rockin’ it at sixty:

http://www.oprah.com/oprahshow/Peter-Framptons-Life-and-Musical-Journey-Video

See Shaun still charming the crowd:

http://www.oprah.com/oprahshow/Shaun-Cassidys-Greatest-Hits-Video

 

18 Responses to “youth is wasted on the young…”

  1. Susanne Says:

    LOL that’s one wagon I would certainly hop on!! Hell no we won’t go!!

  2. Rhonda Says:

    Trust me… my fists are held high and I am fighting this aging thing EVERY step of the way… my best defense… DENIAL.

    Works shockingly well until your friend writes a blog about it, 2 days before your birthday!! Going to need to find another strategy now…

  3. Norma Bickle Says:

    Great Blog Noelle, deja vu. Every so many years everyone one needs a “Mother-Daughter” talk. Here is the voice of my experience. My friend Lyn told me many years ago “get over the age thing, you are probably never going to be better than you are today” it has actually been the truth. So here is my advice, spruce up what you feel you need to, then go for at least a one week vacation to a Retirment community in Florida. There you will be a smokin hot youngster in the eyes of most people there and you will come back with renewed confidence in your va-va-voom. Trust me, have I ever steered you wrong ?

  4. lisallamrei Says:

    Hell, no, you’re not middle aged. Because you’re only one year older than me and if you’re middle aged, that means … but that can’t be true. So, you’re still young.

    BTW, this is Lisa ADAMS. Llamrei is the new nom-de-plume I’m test driving.

  5. Nicole Says:

    I heartily agree Noelle – youth is entirely wasted on the young! It is monumentally unfair that as soon as we gain any sort of wisdom about life and relationships, our bodies immediately start to fall apart!

    Jacob is going to his first pre-teen dance this Friday. Matthew is turning 20 this month! I am 43 years old, and it still feels like yesterday that my MOTHER was 43! What the hell happened???

    Ah well, let’s throw all the money we can into the anti-aging skincare market, and fight it like hell! I truly believe that 40 is the new 20!

    Nicole

  6. Diane Bickle Lehman Says:

    Well, I just heard the other day that the Rolling Stones are going on tour again in 2011. What the hell? These guys are pushing 70 and they are not slowing down. I don’t like getting older one bit! But – I like where I am in life right now – more so than when I was in my 20’s, 30’s or 40’s. It sucks that it took over 50 years to “find myself” but – hey, it’s been a helluva ride getting here. The only advice I feel qualified to give anyone is – “Pick your husband wisely. Remember, this is the man your children will be spending every other weekend with”. Love D

    • So true Diane! The only thing worse than a bad husband is a bad ex-husband, because you are linked for life if you have kids.

      PS – you should be the poster child for defying the aging process!

  7. Nadine.Laure Says:

    There used to be a quite well know exercise and diet guru – I think her name was Susan Powder. Her signature phrase was “Stop the Insanity” and for me that is what this thing called aging is – “absolute insanity”. It is not for the fainted hearted or sissies among us. The dimples in not so cute places, the crow’s feet, bags under your eyes when you rise in the morning (atleast until after the coffee and makeup) are not user friendly elements of growing old gracefully. But then I see an elderly couple who live on our street out walking their dog, or I spend some time with a more mature woman through work whom I admire and watch her revel in the world around her or listen to the quirky take on life that she now posses through her years of living and it reminds me that while growing old ain’t pretty, and it’s not about the destination, it is about the journey that got you from point A to older and I am reminded that there are some really interesting benefits to growing old – heck Dave gets into just about anything for a cheaper price – BONUS! Great blog Noelle – remember to revel!!!

    • You are so right, Didi. Not for the faint of heart at all. Somehow though, I wouldn’t trade it for being 20 again. Somehow the insides get better while the outter shell goes to rot.

      Three cheers for seniors discount though!!! LOL

  8. lisallamrei Says:

    Okay, I have to speak up now about all this ‘going to rot’ talk. Who says a woman is supposed to skinny and taut? I think women are more attractive with curves. And maturity has its own beauty. I’ve seen some freaking hot women in their 40’s, 50’s and beyond. Has anyone seen Vanessa Redgrave or Helen Mirren lately?

    Sure, we don’t look like we did when we were 20, but that doesn’t mean we aren’t still beautiful. What we need is a re-definition of the word and a celebration of the experiences that have marked us. Wear your stretch marks and wrinkles with pride, get out there and be beautiful!

    • Oh Lisa, I wish you could just curl up and live in my head and keep me thinking that way everyday.

      Agreed, Helen Mirren is amazing and she gets the seniors discount for sure, she I think is 65? I have to add that is my mom’s age, and she looks that good too – smart, sexy, and classy is a excellent mix.

      I may have looked more “traditionally” beautiful at 20, but I am far better catch now. Good to know that the stretch marks and wrinkles have been earned. Today I am following your advice wholeheartedly!

  9. Dale Long Says:

    I’m sorry Noelle, from a guys stands point, Peter Frampton and Sean Cassidy?? Seriously? I can totally relate to the whole aging thing. Men just go about it differently. Why do you think there are so many 40-plus men in the emergency with sports related injuries? Gotta out to the young punks and dammit, why can’t I still be a young punk?
    On the flip side, look at the ‘girls’ that Hollywood parades about. Megan Fox? Please. Give me Linda Carter over her anyday, or Erin Gray, both still ubber attractive and… intelligent.


Leave a Reply

