Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

So I’m not bragging, I’m just saying… November 30, 2010

Filed under: What's Up? — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 3:11 PM

My Christmas decorations are up, my tree stands proudly in my living room, and presents are all bought, wrapped, and tucked under the tree. Check the date – November 30th. Yahoo! No shopping in December! No busy malls, no pushy shoppers, no rude store clerks. I can stay tucked in and pretend that the next month isn’t filled with stressed out, consumer-consumed citizens.

This is the first year I’ve been organized. This is the first year I’ve stayed on budget. I hope it’s the first in many years that is carefree and stress-less.

The thing is, I love the Christmas season. I adore the music and the decorations; I love the glow of a warm fire in contrast to the brisk wind on a snowy day. I enjoy gift giving (and getting) and who can complain about the food? There are endless festivities with friends and family, and everywhere you go there seems to be plates of tasty appetizers, Christmas cookies and a vast variety of chocolate delights. Add to that the buzz and excitement that radiates while children anticipate what Santa will bring, and you have yourself a utopic environment in my eyes.

But it only takes one trip to the mall on a Saturday afternoon in December to bring out the Bah humbug in almost anyone. Everyone is grumpy. Hostile even. Kids are crying, parents look like they’ve been dragged through the tinsel behind eight rabid reindeer. Too many people, and not enough time, and I can’t be sure, but the store staff may’ve had mistletoe placed in very uncomfortable places.

So, I for one am prepared to spend December spreading good will, merriment, and kindness. Since I’m ready for the onslaught of the season and now don’t have to worry about the usual stressors of preparing for Christmas, I’m hoping to enjoy this season with a childlike wonder.

I plan on singing carols too loud, making snow angels, sneaking extra Christmas cookies, and eagerly counting down the days until Santa arrives. Won’t you join me?

 

14 Responses to “So I’m not bragging, I’m just saying…”

  1. Rhonda Says:

    sounds like bragging to me…

  2. Dale Long Says:

    I hear you loud and clear! We have almost all our shopping done to. Christmas needs to be slower. Like you said, a fire in the fireplace, because in the middle of the floor makes the fire department come and the kids scream blah blah blah. The scent of pine and cinnamon in the air, and not to mask other odours. And finally the twinkle (not tinkle) of lights and the company of friends. Tis indeed the season!

  3. Diane Bickle Lehman Says:

    I am totally impressed Noelle. Good for you – love your writing. Now you can enjoy the season as everyone should.

  4. Nicole Says:

    Oh my gosh Noelle, you are putting us all to SHAME!!! I bow down to you, goddess of Christmas serenity! I know exactly what you mean about wanting to be done so you can enjoy the season. although I have only bought 2 gifts so far, I am determined to maintain a zen attitude while shopping for the rest of my gifts. On-line shopping is my new best friend, and I’ll avoid the malls like the plague!

    Well, sit back and enjoy the fruits of your labour, you deserve it!

    Nicole

  5. Natalie Says:

    Ok so now I am in panic mode..haven’t started a thing..tree is up but half the lights don’t work :s Anytime I’ve ever started early I usually still shop till the last minute and end up over spending so maybe it’s a good thing!! But yours are wrapped and under the tree??? I would be snooping and very carefully pulling the tape back if I were your children!!
    I am so jealous LOL

    • My sister used to do that – completly unwrap the gift, even try the outfits on! Then she’d act all surprized Christmas day!

      PS – I did over spend (this is so geeky – but I did a excel spreadsheet as I wrapped gifts, so I knew I went over for some people) so today I did some returns, and now I am back on budget. No need for January debt this year, than goodness. Ho ho ho.

  6. Lisa Says:

    You even put me to shame. I have almost all my gifts – only about three more to buy. My tree isn’t up yet, but will be by the end of this weekend (if I can figure out where to put it).

    I can’t believe you have the presents out a month early. I always hide mine until the kids have gone to bed Yule Eve to avoid unauthorized unwrapping.

  7. Norma Bickle Says:

    My first thought was Oh my goodness, I am still enjoying the sun in a faraway place and I have not done a thing !!!!! Then I decided I am so relaxed that I don’t care, my thoughts these days run to Tomorrow is another day.

    My second thought was that if your darling daughter decided to open the presents early, she would probably do it without trying to hide it, so you are right, she hasn’t thought about it yet.


Leave a Reply

