Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Procrastinators Unite Tomorrow! December 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 12:00 PM

I have no valid reason that my novel, Debris, is sitting on the shelf waiting for me to finish updating my final edits. Marked all up in red, and being satisfied with lucky draft number thirteen, it should be a no-brainer to make the revisions to my manuscript. Except I haven’t, and I’m not.

I can come up with great excuses – kids mauling me on snow days, working on my new novel (Life as a Teenage Mutant), getting my website up and running for 2011, getting a query ready for magazine pieces, and editing other writers’ work. And although those are valid tasks that keep me busy, and even make me money, (hallelujah!) they all lend a graceful hand to my procrastinating nature.

I have to tell you – editing your work, and by that I mean editing and re-editing and re-editing, is incredibly difficult. Actually, more tedious than difficult, but either way, it was a harder process for me than actually writing the novel. I can see how much cleaner the writing is, the story is tighter, and the edits have made the novel itself so much better. But the task of revising my work over and over was exhausting, and quite honestly I need a break from my wonderfully messed up and carefully crafted world of Debris.

I did have time this morning to work on it, but instead decided to craft you this very special holiday wish. Maybe I should change careers – I may suit maracas more than the keyboard…

 

10 Responses to “Procrastinators Unite Tomorrow!”

  1. Dale Long Says:

    I hate rassa frackin editing, so I understand where you’re coming from, but as one of the people offering critique on a semi regular basis, I feel it my duty to get on your case.
    Back to work missy!No more frolicking with sombreroes. No more Afroes, type type type. Your have an audience eagerly awaiting its publication.

  2. Rhonda Says:

    Though I love your entertaining holiday cards and totally understand the need for a break… I just have to say…” Get off your butt and finish it so I can read it please!!”

  3. I need some of your butt kickin’ motivation woman!

  4. Jan Wright Says:

    Ola, Noelle!!! Love your stories of your new life in the country and the antics of your kids. It brings back so many happy memories of my life long, long ago. Now I find myself older, not-so-much-wiser but satisfied as much as a frustrated would be writer can be.

    Keep up the great work and as others have expressed before me… get to that re-editing. You have a large passel of friends and family that are dying to brag that they know a published author!

    I wish you and your lovely family a wonderful and safe holiday season.

    Your old (and at 64, I mean old) college buddy,
    Jan Wright (formerly January Awesome)

    • You will always be January Awesome!
      Thanks Jan, and I have a renewed energy to get a whackload of editing done today. My blog readers are just the kick in the rear that I needed to get re-motivated!

      Happy Holidays!

  5. Lisa Llamrei Says:

    I hear you. It took me 11 months just to do the final edits on “Lifetimes”. Way worse than writing the first draft.

    • It feels good to not be alone in the pain of it anyway. And since we finished Novel Approach last January, it has been 11 months for me too. Eeeks – when you say it that way I gringe! I have to get it done before I hit the year mark or it will just be too depressing!

      Okay – now I’m really motivated!

  6. Dave Says:

    OMG……

  7. LOL…like the maracas Dave???


Leave a Reply

