Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Anchors Away… February 7, 2011

Well my fingers are resting nicely back on the keyboard. Ahhhhh, yes, that feels wonderful. There was no internet connection on the Disney Ship (or rather, it was outrageously priced packages that I choose not to invest in while on vacation), so I wasn’t able to check in at all and I’ve missed you!

Though I am eager to be back at it, the vacation did not lend to rejuvenation from R&R. Taking a cruise, I’ve learned, is much like being at an amusement park everyday of your holiday. And being on a Disney cruise meant on top of it all, our favourite Disney characters could be lurking around at any time, so we needed to be camera ready at all times.

Don’t get me wrong, the vacation was quite spectacular. The Disney Magic cruise ship itself boasted two theatres, three pools, separate age specific kids clubs, five restaurants, three take-out stands, several stores, and countless activities areas including an outdoor basketball court and a water slide.

We did not want for food. It was endless (even 24-hour room service), delicious, and offered with such variety that the five pounds I gained was a welcome surprise based on the fact that I was sure it would be closer to ten. No complaints with the food, not a one.

The days on land were fantastic – the beach at St. Maarten was lovely, St. Thomas and snorkelling with turtles, parrot fish and an octopus was lovelier, and Castaway Cay (Disney’s private island) was a kid’s paradise. The day spent there was exceptional, with white sand beaches and water slides into the ocean, Captain Jack Sparrow walking about, and all you can eat ice cream. The kids were never bored, not for one second, but that was essentially the problem.

It was all systems go, all the time.

Great for people who don’t like to stop, like, ever. Our family is much like our golden retriever, we like to have fun, play, eat, run around, but then we like to rest, then rest some more.

I probably would have preferred more days on the beach, dividing time to snorkel, lay in the sun, dig in the sand, and rest in a hammock as the standard of my vacation. I like down-time, and by that I mean I want to lie down. I want to feel like I don’t have to rush off to the next adventure until my body yells out – get up, lazy bones!

In keeping with the commotion, as a writer, I count on people-watching to inspire me. There’s no need to fabricate a character, the world is filled with them. But on a trip that is so non-stop crazy busy, I don’t get the required stop-and-gawk time required to absorb the characters around me. I don’t have the space in my head to formulate plot lines or plan out scenes. I need quiet for that process.

I work with so many talented writers within the Writers Community of Durham Region (WCDR), who unlike me, can write under loud, crowded or chaotic circumstances. James grew up in a house full of kids (six or eight if I recall) so he prefers noise over quiet, he just blocks it out and writes away. Dale always has music playing in the background; something he feels inspires his creativity. But me, I write best sitting in my pajamas in an empty house with no white noise. Maybe it comes from years of only writing late at night, and into the wee hours long after everyone went to bed. Maybe it’s because the noise in my head can’t compete with outside voices. Who knows?

I do know that this vacation was a complete break from writing. No typing, no plotting, no outlining, not even any thinking when it came to my writing world. So, vacation behind me, I am bursting at the starting gate and ready to fly. As exciting and luxurious as it was, it’s good to be home. Now back to business!

 

6 Responses to “Anchors Away…”

  1. Rhonda Says:

    Sounds like a wonderfully exhausting trip! Can’t wait to see the photos!

    Based on how you were comparing yourself to other writers you know, I think you might be interested in some info from a workshop I attended last week. It described a theory called “Multiple Intelligences”. Your teacher daughter has probably heard of it. The basic concept is that our intelligence is triggered by different things depending on the person- there are 8 different kinds of Intelligences and we each have a rainbow of them but some more significantly than others. Dale clearly has Musical Intelligence, James probably has Interpersonal Intelligence and all writers likely have Linguistic Intelligence. I found a site where you can take a test to measure yours, maybe then you will understand why you need quiet- I am guessing you will rate high on Intrapersonal Intelligence. Here is the link:
    http://www.bgfl.org/bgfl/custom/resources_ftp/client_ftp/ks3/ict/multiple_int/index.htm

    • This is very cool! And how well do you know me?

      I am 28/30 intrapersonaal smart with Linguistic coming in at 24/30. Funny too that my logical is only 8/30 and my music and visual dwindle down at 12/30 each. I love things like this, very cool link – thanks Rhon!

  2. Dale Long Says:

    Sounds like an awesome trip! I need to look into the cruise thing, problem is, Sue doesn’t like boats, Me, I have natural sealegs.

    • Your girls would LOVE it. There is a teen club from 14-17 year olds hang out in – like a club, but with disney staff around. On this crowded ship you only see teens at dinner, the rest of the time they are mysterously absent. Great for parents because they have a the trip of a lifetime, becuase they have a sence of independence, you and Sue get alone time, and everyone is happy to meet up for meals.

      As for the sea legs…I am still weaving like a drunkard. I was hoping I’d wake up today and be rid of it, but it is still full on. Didn’t feel it much on the shop, but on land I can’t get rid of the feeling!

  3. John Says:

    “All you can eat ice cream”?

    Who can write when there’s ice cream on offer!! I’m headed to our fridge right now . . .
    . . . thankfully I keep it empty or I’d never get back to my keyboard.

    • Hi John
      It was all you can eat everything! Many night my husband ordered two dinners or two desserts when he couldn’t decide! That happened until about Wednesday when he decided he had gorged himself enough and was going back to one serving. Although it was decadent, it was excessive for sure. I’m glad to be back to my breakfast of a simple yogurt and eight almonds instead of giant meals of eggs and bacon with sweet rolls and pastries and strawberries and whip cream and…

      A cruise is not diet freindly, but it is alot of fun!

      Hope all is well, and that your fingers have been flying across the keyboard.


Leave a Reply

