Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Way to blow my mind… February 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 9:58 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

I’d set aside the afternoon for writing yesterday, but I got side-tracked. Detoured by an absolute, mind-blowing, blissful afternoon delight.

Shopping for deals.

Okay, I’ll be the first to confess, I like to shop. I try to stay clear of certain stores so I’m not tempted to blow money on things I don’t really need. Winners namely, and Home Sense, are the most offensive to my willpower. The problem is, I love a deal, and walking into either of those stores is going to cost me money simply because I really get off on saving money.

Addiction or not, I had cause to walk into our local Winners yesterday. Both my sister and daughter have birthdays around now, and I love to get a good deal, even if it is for a gift. They get way more stuff for the same buck I would normally spend. Two things for the price of one. Can’t beat that right?

Oh, yes. Yes, you can beat that. You can beat it by a long shot.

Blowout! Blowout sale! Better than any sale, anywhere! The end of season sale is on all this week at Winnners, and the savings are ridiculous. Wading through the racks of rock bottom markdowns was euphoric. It was intoxicating, and I had moments where I lost my breath.

Before you judge me, I just need to clarify – I got a gorgeous Calvin Klein sweater for $3. Regular price? $90. I got a Roxy jacket for my youngest (sorry Heather) for $8, regular price? $129. I got six different Star Wars t-shirts for my son (yes…D-O-R-K-Y) that he was thrilled about, for $1 each. That’s less than a chocolate bar these days! Seriously? Just a buck for t-shirt that is regularly priced at $24?

By the end of the day, or more accurately, the end of two hours, I had spent just under $200 and came out with four giant Winners bags full of clothes, games, and toiletries. I admit, when I came home I was shocked to find that the Trivial Pursuit game I got for $3 was in French, and that my son’s belt had no pin-thing to latch into the holes, so maybe I was a bit deal-frenzied. But every other item I bought was stellar. This might have been the single most fabulous shopping spree I’ve ever been on in my life.

My favourite part of shopping for deals, and a big part of my sickness, is coming home and adding up the regular retail price and seeing how much I actually saved. The great thing about this store, is they have regular retail price listed (most times with the priced designer tag still on it), and then they have the Winners price. So I get double the fun on my happy shopper game of seeing how much I saved.

The regular retail price of my four bags of loot? $1,979.89

The Winners price of my four bags of loot? $1,206.78

What I actually paid for my four bags of loot? $198.56

Can I hear you say Woot-Woot?!

So what? I get a little high on sale-fumes while I hunt for deals. And I did blow off my allotted writing time yesterday in exchange for a few hours at the store licking the little red sale tags with pleasure. After hearing the facts, do you still think I have a problem with shopping? Or do you think I am the ultimate shopper now? Do you think I could be the Canadian Olympic champion if they declared shopping a sport?

I vote B. I’m a master shopper. I am the Yoda of Shop Wars.

Shop or shop not, there is no try.

 

12 Responses to “Way to blow my mind…”

  1. Rhonda Says:

    I say SHOP… off to Winners! Thanks for the tip!

  2. Stacey Says:

    I’ll give you a giant WOOT WOOT for that!!!

    From one you have taught to shop,

    LMAO!!!

    • The sales girl told me on Saturday they mark everything down to $1 or $2, but then you’ll have less selection of course…but you won’t know what you missed anyway. So get up first thing Saturday and head over there!

  3. Dale Long Says:

    Scratch the WOOT WOOT, I’ll give you a WIN WIN!

    HAHAHA!! “Shop or shop not, there is no try.” HAHAHA!!!

    (Yes, I used to many capital letters and WAY too many exclamation points)

  4. Give your girls $50 and drive them to Winners…you’ll be awarded dad of the year! Unless, they don’t like to shop…then nobody is a winner.

    PS – you liked the spin on the yoda quote did you?

  5. Lisa Says:

    Ewww … I hate shopping almost as much as I hate hugging, which is probably obvious from the state of my wardrobe.

    But, good for you! If you’re going to blow of writing, might as well have orgiastic fun doing it.

    You might enjoy this video. Food shopping AND Star Wars:

    • I can’t wait to show this to my son and hubby! So funny! Art comes in many forms. Can you imagine how long it took to make this? I love it.

      PS – I more than made up for it today. My fingers are almost raw from hitting the keyboard. Good day, and worth the wait…

  6. Ruth Walker Says:

    Noelle, your approach to shopping is like mine. 😉 Nice to find another who is turned on by the $ale.

    As to the French Trivial Pursuit — if you need a resale, let me know. I’ll be happy to buy it from you. Merci!

    • The game is yours Ruth. I was taking it back there tomorrow, but I’ll be sure to bring it the next time I see you.

      PS – the sale goes until Monday. The checkout person told me that they mark everything currently on sale down to $1 or $2. It stays on sale until Tuesday, then they donate or throw out whatever is left. Wondering what they might trash? Apparently, everything with a designer label gets cut up and tossed in the trash. They arn’t allowed to donate high end name brands. Isn’t that awful? She told me she felt sick to her stomach doing it the last time. Imagine, they would rather have it cut up in the trash then have it go to a women’s shelter. Pathetic, isn’t it?

      That being said – in terms of your own shopping, if all else fails, you should be heading out to your local winners tomorrow for dollar deals!

  7. Norma Bickle Says:

    I taught you well Daughter, or was it from your father ? All I know is the apple does not fall far frome the tree. Another good job !!

  8. I wish you were here to join in on the madness!


Leave a Reply

