Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

I’m A-Ok, Just MIA May 13, 2011

My dear blog followers, how I love you so. Thanks for your emails and check-ins. You need not worry, I’m alive and kicking (and thank you for the concern!). I’ve been bogged down and drowning just a little with coordinating a new organization up here in Simcoe County. The Writers’ Community of Simcoe County had its first meeting last night and it was a great way to kick off a new forum to support local writers. Pass on the info to any writer you know looking for a place to belong! http://simcoewriters.ca/simcoe/

Now that the dust has settled and the water has left my lungs, I can get back to writing and get back to connecting to you on the blog. How I have missed you readers!

I thought it was high time to fill you in on how things are moving along in terms of Debris, my first novel, and progress on my second, Life As a Teenage Mutant. I’ll start with Mutant.

I am loving the voice of my main character Abby Brooks. She just drags me along my the nose, working my fingers to the bone with her antics and her haunting voice. I head to a writers’ retreat next week (yahoo – a whole week of writing in silence!) and my plan is to finish the first draft. I have every confidence that you will fall in love with her too, and once I’m back I’ll post my favourite scene so you can get a taste of her. I’m meeting with an Acquiring Editor as part of a workshop at the end of this month, and hope she’ll give me crucial feedback about my work. Maybe she’ll love it so much she’ll want to read more than the first 20 pages I’ve sent her. Cross your fingers. And toes. And depending how flexible you are, cross other stuff too.

Which leads me to Debris.

I haven’t given up on my first-born novel. Lots of queries are out to agents, although I just got a rejection last Friday. Yuck. But it didn’t bother me as much as I thought it would have. Waiting in limbo is far, far worse than actually getting a rejection response. At least it’s conclusive. I still have faith in Debris, but I am focusing all my energy on Mutant, because between you and me, it’s a far better book.

I used to hear authors talk about having a manuscript sitting on their shelf that would likely never get published. And it used to set me into panic. “I don’t want to spend all that time writing a book to have it just sit there, unpublished.” But the truth of it is, I’m a better writer than I was 2 years ago, and a year ago, and even 2 months ago. With every workshop, every retreat, every meeting and every critique – you become a better writer. At least if you are open to learning and improving you do get better. And I am, and I do, and I did.

So, Debris waits patiently to be noticed. I have a sneaky suspicion that Mutant will get me an agent and a publisher, and that Debris can be discovered on the heels of her kid sister Mutant. And that’s okay. It’s also okay if Debris never gets her chance. Things will work out the very way they should.

So wish me luck on my retreat and my mission to finish Mutant next week. It will be a labour of love, that I can assure.

 

12 Responses to “I’m A-Ok, Just MIA”

  1. Susanne Hinds Says:

    Good Luck! I can’t wait to read your books!

    • Thank you Susanne! I’m thrilled that people who arn’t obligated to read my blog do so! That’s the inner critic in me – writer’s curse.

      I understand family and freinds support me, but they have a heathly fear that I will cry my heart out if they don’t at least fake interest. But when people get on my rah-rah squad just becuase they actually enjoy my work, I get a burst of Sally Field’s “they like me, they really like me.” 🙂 Thanks for the luck!

  2. Phil Dwyer Says:

    Hey Noelle,

    Glad you’re not ‘drownded’. How do you feel about swapping blog links?

    • Would love to Phil. But I am a bit of a geek, nope, not the word…dud. That would be it – so you have to let me know what I need to do – would that be under widgets? Like blog role?

      PS – have you come down from the high of hearing about your publishing news? That’s got to be good for a full month of warm fuzzy, right?

  3. Phil Dwyer Says:

    I’ve been swapping fragments with the editor, which makes me feel all literary. He wanted to know what Palimpsest means. I thought it was refreshingly honest of him to ask. I’d have said nothing and looked it up on Wikipedia. Turns out he’s going to use my explanation of the word and how it sparked the story at the end of the piece. . So yes, still high.

    On swapping links, you’ll have to go to links and create a new one, which could be categorized as ‘blogroll’. It should then just show up. More complex for me, cause I don’t use a blogroll, but then I am a not-so-secret geek.

  4. Bernice Says:

    I’m so happy you’re back. Life is busy and I spend so much time immersed in real estate that it’s nice to enter someone else’s world. I faithfully read your blog and occasionally stop by a poodle blog (if you noticed any of my facebook photos you’ll know why I read blogs on dogs that can’t seem to keep their paws out of the electrical sockets! How else do they get those curly coats?) So when you’re MIA for so long something is missing from my week. Anyway, nice to see you back here. Good Skill with the book. No luck required!

  5. Thank you – lets hope the skill and luck mix together to ensure success. Here’s hoping!

    A busy career in real estate lends to great ideas for characters leads – you get to meet some “interesting” people, right?

  6. Lisa Llamrei Says:

    Glad to see you back. No luck required. You’ve got the talent and the skill. The only way for you to not succeed is to stop trying.

  7. Let’s keep telling each other that, okay? I thank my lucky stars for my support group that just “gets”it.

  8. Dale Long Says:

    I like that thinking, that Mutant is the break through novel and through it Debris will follow….
    That’s a hard thing to do, put aside novel number 1.
    They’ll both do well.

  9. Thanks Dale. What was is Robert said at that workshop – a novel is never finished, just abandoned. I’ll come back to it in good time.


Leave a Reply

