Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Renewed…and now I can exhale May 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 1:22 PM

Last week I was at a writers retreat, and I’m not gonna lie – I feel sort of ripped off in normal life now.

Oh what a life it would be to just live like you were on retreat. Meals served to you, a facilitated workshop in the morning to get your head in the right (write) space, and the whole afternoon and evening free to write, walk, reflect, revise. Life would be simple if life was just one big retreat. I’d also have completed works coming out my ears.

But, back to regular life, with the family, the pets, the housework, the gardening and all the everyday stuff that keeps your writing feet in the mud. Nice to be home, in my own space, and good to see my peeps, but oh my…there’s just something about being away from everything, surrounded by a group of brilliant minds and talented artists. The experience makes you long for the streets of Paris or a tiny cabin overlooking the ocean for inspiration and magic in the craft.

Inkslinger founders James Dewar and Sue Reynolds (who just happens to be my wise mentor) put together the fantastic retreat and it just couldn’t have been better. They have another one coming up in July, held at the same place I was just at on Lake Simcoe. If you’re looking for a retreat that will change the writer you are or the one you hope to be, you might want to check it out. http://inkslingers.ca/inkslingers

The feeling of utopia could have been our fantastic Chef Deb, brought in to nurture and fuel our bodies with her delectable offerings at mealtimes. I wanted to bring Chef Deb home and keep her in my cupboard. Is that legal? I guess I have to settle for the next best thing – one of several of her published cookbooks that make it look easy to be as great as her. Here’s hoping! http://thefridgewhisperer.ca

Without a doubt though, the heart of the retreat was the workshop leader, Pat Schneider. Pat is the founder of Amherst Writers and Artists, and organization dedicated to the principle that everyone can use words to create art. Pat is the author of Writing Alone and With Others, and she was one of those people you meet who can’t help but to change your life. Her energy is pure light. http://www.patschneider.com

And I do feel absolutely changed. I was able to work on poetry, which I never allow myself to do. I know some outstanding poets which makes the attempt daunting, and truth be told poetry overall is intimidating to me. But with the gentle guidance of our fearless leader Pat, along with the group of writers who forged ahead into the murky waters of vulnerability, I produced some poetry that I am really proud of. I’m also really proud of the fact that some of the work will be placed in an anthology coming out soon. (more details in a few weeks) All in all, it was a good week. A great week. Actually, it was glorious. And I thank my lucky stars that I could be a part of it.

On another note, a short story of mine, Bittersweet, was selected as a contributing piece of work for another anthology, Wild Words. We have our launch this coming Thursday. So if you are looking for a cool night out where you can hear some readings and mingle with the crazy writer types, drop me a line or RSVP. http://wcdr.ca/wcdr/?p=6806

Busy week again…lucky I am renewed!

 

14 Responses to “Renewed…and now I can exhale”

  1. Thanks, Noelle. You said it all.

  2. Phil Dwyer Says:

    Jealous? Me? A little bit. Especially as it’s washing day… but glad you got your writing equipment oiled and sparkly and ready to go. That’s my prompt to get writing.

  3. Deb Rankine Says:

    Hey Noelle, thanks for the FW plug!

    And while I’ve yeet to discover the WordPress thingy I’m to use to view my stats or place in queue future blogs posts, I do know how to embed hyperlinks into posts so readers can click on the named thing and be whisked effortlessly to the website.

    We’ll use Fridge Whisperer as an example (why the hell not?).

    The feeling of utopia could have been our fantastic Chef Deb, brought in to nurture and fuel our bodies with her delectable offerings at mealtimes. I wanted to bring Chef Deb home and keep her in my cupboard. Is that legal? I guess I have to settle for the next best thing – one of several of her published cookbooks that make it look easy to be as great as her. Here’s hoping! <a href="http://thefridgewhisperer.com/fridge/&quot; The Fridge Whisperer

    That’s Insert name of the link here, then finish the HTML coding with

    Give it a go on your next post and let me know if it worked for you

    Warmly,

    Chef Deb.

  4. Deb Rankine Says:

    embedding hyperlinks, continued…

    My little tutorial came out looking like a dog’s (or cat’s) brekkie once published on your website.

    I will send you an email with the instructions on how to do it.

    D.

    • Thank you! Weird though – I added links like I always do – with the little link button, but none of them showed? I had four – is there a limit? Nice to know how to do it manually though.

  5. Cryssa Says:

    Congratulations, Noelle on making the Wild Words anthology!!!! I can’t wait to read it.

  6. Hey Noelle…no, I’m not TOO jealous…sounds like it was a blast.

    On another note, I wanted to highlight a fellow WCDR member’s excellent blog. Therefore, I humbly bestowe on you the “Irresistably Sweet Blog Award”. I highlighted you in my latest blog…

    http://tobinelliott.wordpress.com/2011/05/26/the-irresistibly-sweet-blog-award/

  7. Dale Long Says:

    C’mon, there had to be something bad about it. Please tell me something bad, like the beds were lumpy, or the bugs were bad, something, anything? I just need it to ease my guilt for not going.

    Envious is hardly an adequate term..

    Glad you had fun!


Leave a Reply

