Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Life As A Teenage Mutant… June 29, 2011

Filed under: What's Up? — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 3:12 PM

It’s done! All 80,573 words of my second novel, Life As a Teenage Mutant are typed and the manuscript is finished! (enter the choir!). I know June has been hit and miss with my blog posts, but I know you’ll forgive me since I was in crazywriter  mode trying to meet my deadline. And I did! I can’t tell you what it feels like to have finished the work by my goal time, albeit cutting it very close. I needed to have it completed by the time the kids finished school because I can edit, but not write when they are running around in regular life. Wooooo Hooooo for me! Just in time to go to the Humber School for Writers in one week and plug my book any chance I get, and just in time to make sure I get at least a little sunshine on my face.

Want to know what readers have in store for them with this gritty coming of age story?

For twelve-year-old Abby, living in rural Southern Ontario with her parents, her sister Dawn, and the occasional wandering cow, life in the early eighties is simple if not boring.  That is, until her parents have a gig out-of-town, Dawn has a party, and a family friend creeps into Abby’s room and rapes her.  Abby struggles through middle and high school with an eating disorder, a dysfunctional family and her own abusive relationships all in a drug induced haze. When Abby’s gotten clean and brave enough to go to the police, the man is charged with her rape. All’s well, that ends well. Except…after the charges are laid, her abuser takes matters into his own hands.

Wish me luck in finding a brave agent and brilliant publisher to get this work published. It’s writing that matters. Cross your fingers and toes for me.

 

23 Responses to “Life As A Teenage Mutant…”

  1. Rhonda Says:

    So excited!!

    Everything is crossed, I have never been so bendy!

  2. Sue Reynolds Says:

    Whooo hooooo! Let me be the first to congratulate you on finishing the first draft. What a wonderful accomplishment to have done before you leave for Humber.

    • I am giddy. And I love the last line. I didn’t even know it was the end, but got stumped on what came next, then went…no – that’s it. That’s the end. Very cool. Thanks for all your support, and for yor part in making me a stronger writer with a thicker backbone! xo

  3. Lisa Llamrei Says:

    Good Luck!!! Although, I don’t think you’ll need it. I can’t imagine you won’t find an agent.

  4. Fingers and toes are crossed! Go you!

  5. deepamwadds Says:

    You are an inspiration to us all, Noelle. I am so happy for you. I salute your efforts, your skill, your determination and your gosh darn good writing. I’m all goosebumpy. You’ve even got a decent synopsis already to go. Bravo, my fiend. Bravo!

  6. Erica Says:

    Wow! I’m so happy for you! Congratulations! You must feel on top of the world! I can’t wait to hear more!

  7. Nora Says:

    First draft of your 2nd novel – that’s great. Congratulations, I do think it is an accomplishment to meet your goals and your time lines and to balance parenting and writing and life… I look forward to reading this novel… Have a great time at Humber! Nora

  8. Cryssa Says:

    I’m borrowing fingers and toes for you! Congratulations for finishing on time. The blurb sounds great!

  9. Lisa Says:

    I”m intrigued….all the best with this new novel….I don’t think that you will require any luck as you definitely have shown your talent…good luck anyway! 🙂

  10. Ah, Noelle, I love these “feel good” happy go lucky stories!!!! LOL! Congrats. There’s nothing like the feeling of typing that last line, is there?

  11. John Says:

    Noelle,

    You are amazing. Finished two novels!! Congratulations. You deserve all those pats on the back. Hope that you have a great time at Humber.

    – John

  12. Dale Long Says:

    That’s awesome news! I really have to follow your lead and buckle down.


Leave a Reply

