Boundbytheword Blog

keep updated in the world of Debris

Green around the gills… May 24, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Noelle Bickle / Abby Brooks @ 5:37 PM
Tags: , , , ,

Jealousy. It ain’t pretty.
 
But lately I’ve been various shades of green from moss to emerald and everything in between. Before I have you on the edge of your seat for scandalous divorce news, let me assure you – the beast is far bigger than that. It’s other writers I’ve turned Hulk over, and it seems to have a grip on me in all the delicate places.
 
Part of becoming a better writer is to always be a voracious reader and word lover. Always a book in my hand or a song to my ear, I am forever listening to other writers stories, and I long to move readers and listeners like they have moved me. The latest case of this comes from brilliantly disturbed songwriter Damien Rice, whose haunting song was recently covered on the TV show American Idol by (my from-the-start-favourite) Phillip Phillips. If you can get past the redundancy of his name, you will be mesmerized by his talent as a musician. Beyond the fact that Phillip’s voice seems to do things to woman of all ages, but most inappropriately to women over 40 – he is an amazing musician. That being said – I read the lyrics of the song Volcano and was equally moved (if not stirred in questionable places). It should be a theme song given to every girl at her high school graduation. Why does it take a man younger than my eldest daughter (oh lordy, that makes me feel quite despicable!) to give me a worm ear that works its way into my brain and makes sense of past issues?
 
I’m pretending Damien Rice with his wise words is a good generation or two older than Phillip Phillips at the tender age of 21. I don’t want to be corrected by anyone. Though perhaps I just should take comfort in the fact that young men somehow got wise in terms of relationship smarts? Why didn’t I date writers in my youth?
 
So enjoy – let Phillip Phillips rock your world with his version of Volcano. Brilliant lyrics are posted below. Ahhhh…green, green, green.
And tell me…am I alone in loving everything about him?

 

 

“Volcano” by Damien Rice

Don’t hold yourself like that
You’ll hurt your knees
I kissed your mouth and back
But that’s all I need
Don’t build your world around volcanoes melt you down
What I am to you is not real
What I am to you you do not need
What I am to you is not what you mean to me
You give me miles and miles of mountains
 And I’ll ask for the sea

 

Don’t throw yourself like that In front of me
I kissed your mouth your back Is that all you need?
Don’t drag my love around volcanoes melt me down
What I am to you is not real
What I am to you you do not need
What I am to you is not what you mean to me
You give me miles and miles of mountains
And I’ll ask what I give to you

 

Is just what I’m going through This is nothing new
No no just another phase of finding what I really need
Is what makes me bleed
And like a new disease she’s still too young to treat
Like a distant tree
Volcanoes melt me down
She’s still too young I kissed your mouth
You do not need me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Green around the gills…”

  1. Phil Dwyer Says:

    Hey Noelle:

    I don’t like doing this. Don’t think it gives me any pleasure, because it doesn’t. But I’m going to have to burst your bubble on the Damien Rice love. You’re obviously familiar with his album O. That female voice you hear accompanying him on Volcano (and elsewhere) is Lisa Hannigan, a lovely, elfin Irish singer (Natalie and I went to see her in Toronto a few months ago, just after she released her second solo album. She was magical). Damien used to date her, but decided one day (mid tour) that he was dumping her. She was out. He treated her like a total a**hole, and I lost all respect for the man.

    The great thing about this is that it forced Lisa to pursue her own singing career (you should check out her first album, Sea-Sew if you haven’t already. The second’s pretty good too). Her career seems to have taken off, while Damien’s has foundered a little since the days of O, so I guess karma is really at work in the world.

    However, you don’t need to be a nice person to create great art, and this song was an inspired choice by Phillip Phillips – it fit him like a glove (sorreee, cliche) and the production was simply perfect. I think it was his best performance of the season, never mind what anybody else said.

    Sorry to burst your Damien bubble.

    • Oh Phil…just when I started getting over my issues with men, you burst the bubble. LOL – can I really lay that much guilt?

      Actually – the first time I heard a Damien Rice song was when Phillip Phillips covered it on American Idol. I do think his stuff is interesting, but my heart truly belongs to PP. I agree – that was his very best performance – loved it.

      Oh another note – I’m checking out Lisa Hannigan – loved her voice on Damien’s track, and it would be great to hear it front and centre. Thanks for the tip!

      So – no apology required – unless you try to break the Phillip Phillips bubble – then there will be trouble!

  2. Okay…got to say, I’m a Phillip Phillips gal too. He really has charisma. Sure, he’s probably not the best technical singer and he has a limited range, but do I care? I think the kid is gorgeous and love his voice and choice in songs. He takes a completely mundane song and makes it magic. Noelle, should we start a fan club? 🙂

    Also, thanks Phil for the input on Damien Rice. I went on a YouTube search for him because of a song I’d heard, but after watching a few I realized he sounds the same in a lot of his songs. The sound that I was hearing that pulled me in was Lisa Hannigan. She is brilliant! If you have the chance, check out the interview with Jason Mraz’s band members who are asked what it’s like touring with her. I swear those guys melt. Damien Rice may have tossed himself into the sacrificial volcano by dumping her.

    • A fan club would be a great idea…but how would we ever do it and not look like pervert cougars? He is 5 years (count them!) younger than my oldest daughter, and for that I feel very ashamed…lol. Do you think it matters if he has an old soul?

  3. Phil Dwyer Says:

    BTW Noelle, Lisa is back in Toronto on June 10, playing a show at the Phoenix. Natalie and I are thinking of going…

  4. Deepam (Susan) Wadds Says:

    When I clicked on this video a message came up saying “This video is private.” Wah!


Leave a Reply

